• Käte Hamburger Kolleg

The Centre for Global Cooperation Research at the University of Duisburg-Essen is one of ten Käte Hamburger Kollegs funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research. The institute sees itself as an interdisciplinary learning community that brings together nationally and internationally renowned researchers (fellows) with the aim of exploring the possibilities and limits of transboundary cooperation and new ways for global policymaking.

In the coming years, the Centre is going to concentrate on four research areas. During the period of 2018-2020, the focus will be on the pathways and mechanisms as well as the polycentric governance of global cooperation. In the period of 2021-2024, the themes of critique, justification and legitimacy, as well as plural conceptions of world order in the context of global cooperation, will be brought into the focus of the Centre’s research agenda. The four research themes will be reflected and concretized on the basis of the policy fields of climate change, peacebuilding, digital spaces and migration.

The Centre promotes the exchange between international visiting scholars, practitioners and the public. Besides DIE, the Centre is in close exchange with the Institute for Development and Peace (INEF) and the Institute for Advanced Study in the Humanities (KWI).

Events

• Käte Hamburger Kolleg

Das Centre for Global Cooperation Research an der Universität Duisburg-Essen ist eines von zehn Käte Hamburger Kollegs, die vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung gefördert werden. Das Institut ist eine interdisziplinäre Lerngemeinschaft aus national und international renommierten Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern (Fellows), die Möglichkeiten und Hindernisse grenzüberschreitender Kooperation untersucht und neue Wege globaler Politikgestaltung erkundet.

In den kommenden Jahren beschäftigt sich das Kolleg mit vier Themengebieten. Von 2018 bis 2020 widmet sich die Forschung den Pfaden und Mechanismen sowie der polyzentrischen Governance globaler Kooperation. Von 2021 bis 2024 rücken die Themenfelder Kritik, Rechtfertigung und Legitimität sowie plurale Weltordnungskonzepte im Kontext globaler Kooperation in das Zentrum der Forschungsagenda. Die Themengebiete werden anhand der vier Politikfelder Klimawandel, Peacebuilding, Digitale Räume und Migration reflektiert und konkretisiert.

Das Kolleg fördert den Austausch zwischen den internationalen Gastwissenschaftlerinnen und Gastwissenschaftlern, Praktikerinnen und Praktiker sowie mit der interessierten Öffentlichkeit. An dem Kolleg sind neben dem DIE auch das Institut für Entwicklung und Frieden (INEF) sowie das Kulturwissenschaftliche Institut Essen (KWI) beteiligt.

Veranstaltungen