• Green Finance

    Photo: Fotolia

Green Finance

How to finance a green transformation? 

In order to combat climate change we have to change our unsustainable ways of living and restructure our economies in a way that respects the planetary boundaries. A green transformation is needed and requires significant financing (green finance).

Researchers at the German Development Institute / Deutsches Institut für Entwicklungspolitik (DIE) study green finance from different angles: 

  • International climate finance: Research focuses on the effective spending of climate finance, e.g. with regard to vulnerable populations, and the involvement of the private sector in adaptation financing.
  • Policy frameworks for financing of renewable energy: Policy measures can facilitate the deployment of renewable energy and energy efficiency technologies. We research existing and innovative measures which are both green and inclusive. 
  • Financial markets as sources for green finance: Research focuses on overcoming constraints for green investments in developing countries and emerging economies, e.g. on financial instruments to mobilise additional capital or on local financial markets as sources for the provision of green finance.
  • Payment for ecosystem services and natural resources: DIE studies green and inclusive finance that targets the world’s poorest, in particular in water management and agriculture.

Experts

Publications

Projects

Events

• Green Finance

    Photo: Fotolia

Green Finance

Wie kann eine grüne Transformation finanziert werden?

Um dem Klimawandel entgegenzuwirken, müssen wir unseren Lebensstil verändern und die natürlichen Grenzen unseres Planeten respektieren. Für eine solche grüne Transformation benötigen wir Finanzierung (green finance).

Am Deutschen Institut für Entwicklungspolitik (DIE) untersuchen wir Green Finance aus verschiedenen Blickwinkeln:

  • Internationale Klimafinanzierung: Wir erforschen wie Finanzierung möglichst effektiv genutzt werden kann, z.B. im Hinblick auf die Belange der vom Klimawandel besonders Betroffenen oder durch die Einbeziehung des Privatsektors bei der Anpassungsfinanzierung.
  • Politische Rahmenbedingungen für die Finanzierung erneuerbarer Energien: Politikmaßnahmen können den Einsatz erneuerbarer Energien und Energieeffizienztechnologien begünstigen. Wir erforschen existierende und innovative Maßnahmen, die grün und sozial inklusiv sind.
  • Finanzmärkte als Quellen für Green Finance: Wir untersuchen wie grünes Investment in Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländern erleichtert werden kann, z.B. durch den Einsatz von Finanzierungsinstrumenten zur Mobilisierung zusätzlichen Kapitals, oder durch die Entwicklung von lokalen Finanzmärkten.
  • Zahlungen für Ökosystemdienstleistungen und natürliche Ressourcen: Wir forschen zu grüner und inklusiver Finanzierung, die die Ärmsten der Welt begünstigt, z.B. in Bezug auf Wasserressourcenmanagement und Landwirtschaft.

Wissenschaftlicher Stab

Publikationen

Projekte

Veranstaltungen