G20 and Think 20

T20 is a broad-based network of think tanks, which provides evidence-based policy advice to the G20. As co-host under the German presidency in 2017, DIE in cooperation with MGG partners,  played a key role in strengthening the network.

An outstanding achievement of the DIE has been the unprecedented degree of inclusion which has come about through broad participation of MGG partners from Brazil, China, India, Indonesia, Mexico and South Africa. Moreover partners from Southern G20 countries have been actively engaged in the processes. For example: MGG-partners participated in the Task Force on Trade and Investment and co-authored policy briefs addressed to Sherpas. The efforts were greatly rewarded. At the Hamburg Summit, leaders adopted a far-reaching statement on VSS: “In order to achieve sustainable and inclusive supply chains, we commit to fostering the implementation of labour, social and environmental standards and human rights in line with internationally recognised frameworks, such as the UN Guiding Principles on Business and Human Rights and the ILO Tripartite Declaration of Principles concerning Multinational Enterprises and Social Policy” (G20 Leaders’ Declaration).

MGG’s strong presence in the T20 process also broke new ground in terms of relations between the G20 and Africa. Following an MGG-T20 conference in Johannesburg, South Africa, in early 2017, the T20 Africa Standing Group was constituted at the T20 Berlin Summit, in May 2017. The knowledge alliance of MGG and African partners provides the ground for a new partnership between the G20 and the continent. This new partnership is crucial to implement the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development and to create new opportunities for research on global cooperation.

Events

G20 und Think 20

Die T20 sind ein breit angelegtes Netzwerk von Think-Tanks, das der G20 eine forschungsbasierte Politikberatung bietet. Als Co-Gastgeber der T20 während der deutschen Präsidentschaft im Jahr 2017 war das DIE in Zusammenarbeit mit MGG-Partnern tragend an der Stärkung des Netzwerkes beteiligt.

Eine Leistung des DIE war die verbesserte Inklusion durch eine große Beteiligung von MGG-Partnern aus Brasilien, China, Indien, Indonesien, Mexiko und Südafrika. Die Partnerinnen und Partner aus „südlichen“ G20-Staaten konnten sich aktiv an den Prozessen beteiligen. Zum Beispiel: MGG-Partnerinnen und Partner nahmen an der Task Force für Handel und Investitionen teil und formulierten gemeinsam Empfehlungen, welche an die Sherpas adressiert waren. Die Bemühungen wurden belohnt. Auf dem Hamburger Gipfel haben die G20 eine weitgehende Aussage zu Nachhaltigkeitsstandards verabschiedet: "Um nachhaltige und inklusive Lieferketten zu erreichen, verpflichten wir uns, die Umsetzung von Arbeits-, Sozial- und Umweltstandards sowie die Durchsetzung der Menschenrechte im Einklang mit international anerkannten Vorgaben wie den VN-Leitprinzipien für Wirtschaft und Menschenrechte und der Dreigliedrigen Grundsatzerklärung der IAO über multinationale Unternehmen und Sozialpolitik zu fördern.“ (G20 Erklärung der Staats- und Regierungschefs).

Die starke Präsenz von MGG im T20-Prozess setzte auch neue Wege in den Beziehungen zwischen den G20 und Afrika in Bewegung. Nach einer MGG-T20-Konferenz in Johannesburg, Südafrika, wurde Anfang 2017 die T20-Afrika-Standing Group im Mai 2017 auf dem Gipfeltreffen der T20 Berlin gegründet. Die Wissensallianz von MGG und afrikanischen Partnerinnen und Partnern ist Grundstein für eine neue Partnerschaft der G20 und des Kontinents. Diese neue Partnerschaft ist entscheidend für die Umsetzung der Agenda 2030 für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung und die Schaffung neuer Möglichkeiten für die Forschung zur globalen Zusammenarbeit.

Veranstaltungen