• Rising Powers

Rising Powers

Rising Powers from the developing world change global and national development paths. In an increasingly interconnected world, states like China, India, Brazil, but also Indonesia, Mexico, South Africa or Vietnam impact on the development prospects of other countries. Beyond the traditional perception as middle-income countries, these rising powers are regionally and globally important actors. Thus, they are crucial elements in political problem-solving in a poly-centric world.

The German Development Institute / Deutsches Institut für Entwicklungspolitik (DIE) conducts research on the flexible and dynamic group of rising powers on various aspects of international cooperation. Effects of rising powers can be direct or indirect, positive or negative, regionally limited or global. DIE is working on the diverse ‘new’ actors from rising powers and their norms and goals. Furthermore, of interest are effects on competitiveness and sustainable poverty reduction; activities in and effects on security and governance in developing countries; effects and national policies on ecological sustainability; and structural changes in the world economy.

In knowledge cooperation, DIE is closely connected with institutions from rising powers through its programme “Managing Global Governance”. Thereby, the Institute is also directly in dialogue with differing perspectives on global change.

Researchers

Publications

Events

Header: Rising Powers

Aufstrebende Mächte

Aufstrebende Mächte unter den Entwicklungsländern verändern globale und nationale Entwicklungen. In einer zunehmend vernetzen Welt beeinflussen Staaten wie China, Indien, Brasilien, Indonesien, Mexiko, Südafrika oder Vietnam die Entwicklungschancen anderer Staaten. Über die traditionelle Betrachtung als „Schwellenländer“ hinaus sind aufstrebende Mächte regional und global wichtige Akteure. Sie sind damit ein notwendiger Bestandteil politischer Problemlösungen in einer polyzentrischen Welt.

Das Deutsche Institut für Entwicklungspolitik (DIE) erforscht die Auswirkungen der flexiblen und dynamischen Gruppe von aufstrebenden Mächten auf verschiedene Bereiche der internationalen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit. Diese Auswirkungen können direkt oder indirekt sein, positiv oder negativ, regional begrenzt oder global spürbar. Das DIE befasst sich mit Fragen zu den diversen Akteuren und ihren Zielsystemen sowie ihren Auswirkungen auf Wettbewerbsfähigkeit und nachhaltige Armutsbekämpfung; Effekte und Aktivitäten hinsichtlich Sicherheitsfragen und Regierungsführung in Entwicklungsländern; Auswirkungen und nationale Politiken zur ökologischen Nachhaltigkeit; und strukturelle Veränderungen in der Weltwirtschaft.

In der Wissenskooperation ist das DIE in seinem Programm „Managing Global Governance“ unmittelbar verbunden mit Institutionen aus aufstrebenden Mächten. So ist das Institut auch direkt im Dialog über verschiedene Perspektiven auf globale Veränderungen.

Wissenschaftlicher Stab

Publikationen

Veranstaltungen

What makes a "Rising Power"? – Coffee Talk at DIE

In den Medien

logo: cowries and rice

Everything you need to know about FOCAC: Rising Powers
Interview mit Sven Grimm
Cowries and Rice, Episode 59
30.11.2015

G20

Besuchen Sie auch das themenverwandte Website Special "G20"

In den Medien

Logo: China Africa Project

What to Expect at this Year’s Mega China-Africa Summit
A China in Africa Podcast

Sven Grimm / Eric Olander / Cobus van Staden
The China Africa Project, 03.11.2015

Im Fokus

Sustainability-oriented Innovation Systems in China and India
Altenburg, Tilman (ed.) (2016)
London: Routledge

Im Fokus

Cover: Institutional architecture and development: responses from emerging powers

Institutional architecture and development: responses from emerging powers
Elizabeth Sidiropoulos / Jorge A. Pérez Pineda / Sachin Chaturvedi / Thomas Fues (Hrsg.)(2015)
Johannesburg: South African Institute of International Affairs (SAIIA)

Im Fokus

Cover: Third World Quarterly

Emerging powers at the UN: ducking for cover?
Weinlich, Silke (2014)
in: Third World Quarterly 35 (10), 1829-1844