Goal 7: Ensure access to affordable, reliable, sustainable, and modern energy for all

Goal 7: Ensure access to affordable, reliable, sustainable, and modern energy for all

Download PDF 1.03 MB

Loewe, Markus / Georgeta Vidican / Tilman Altenburg / Matthias Ruchser
Mitarbeiter sonstige

in: Loewe, Markus / Nicole Rippin (eds.), Translating an ambitious vision into global transformation: the 2030 agenda for sustainable development, Bonn: German Development Institute / Deutsches Institut für Entwicklungspolitik (DIE), (Discussion Paper 7/2015), 47-50

ISBN: 978-3-88985-671-5

SDG 7 contains issues that are important because they support the implementation of Goal 8 (access to energy as a means to promote growth and employment) and SDGs 12 and 13 (a reduction in non-renewable energy consumption as a means for more sustainable consumption and production and climate stability). For practical and political considerations, the goal has been established as a stand-alone goal. More specific target values would have been desirable, as well as more ambitious formulations in the goal with regard to reductions in energy consumption.

About the authors

Altenburg, Tilman

Economic Geographer


Loewe, Markus


Auktor (ehemals Vidican)

Further experts

Kuhn, Sascha

Social Psychologist 

Gudibande, Rohan


Fuhrmann, Hanna


Baumann, Max-Otto

Political Scientist 

Mathis, Okka Lou

Political Scientist 

Richerzhagen, Carmen

Agricultural and Environmental Economist 

Stoffel, Tim

Political Scientist 

Sturm, Janina

Economist and political scientist 

Wehrmann, Dorothea


Weinlich, Silke

Political Scientist 

Hilbrich, Sören


Kloke-Lesch, Adolf

Urban and regional planner 

Lynders, Eva-Maria

Political Science 

Kaplan, Lennart


Bauer, Steffen

Political scientist 

Brandi, Clara

Economist and Political Scientist 

Götze, Jacqueline

Political Scientist 

Hackenesch, Christine

Political Scientist 

Hernandez, Ariel

Political Scientiest 

Iacobuta, Gabriela

Environmental Researcher 

Janus, Heiner

Political Scientist 

Keijzer, Niels

Social Scientist 

Koch, Svea

Social Scientist 

Laudage, Sabine


Never, Babette

Political Scientist 

Pegels, Anna


Srigiri, Srinivasa Reddy

Agricultural Economist