• The Trump Doctrine

    Photo: Ash_crow / CC BY-SA 2.0 / Flickr

The Trump Doctrine

On 20 January 2017, Donald J. Trump began his term as the 45th President of the United States of America. During his election campaign and his transition into office, this new occupant of the White House did, among other things, distinguish himself through sexist and racist remarks, repeatedly proposed to stop immigration by building a wall, emphasized his position that US foreign policy should primarily serve American interest and openly called into question the validity of global climate change.

This new era in American politics comes at a time when the international community was able to achieve major multilateral successes: In late 2015 the Paris Agreement brought together countries in the global struggle to contain climate change. Mere months before the summit in Paris, the Global Goals for Sustainable Development were agreed upon as a fundamental development agenda. The world is facing challenges in all areas of policy, which can only be dealt with by cooperation among states. Unilateralist actions of important nations, such as the United States of America, will have severe consequences for this process.

So what happens, if the new US president makes good on his election promises? Are International Relations destined to return to callous Realism, in which international cooperation is declared a zero-sum game once again? Authors from the German Development Institute / Deutsches Institut für Entwicklungspolitik (DIE) comment on the potential consequences of this for German and international politics.

Researchers

Publications

Events

• Die Trump-Doktrin

    Photo: Ash_crow / CC BY-SA 2.0 / Flickr

Die Trump-Doktrin

Am 20. Januar 2017 begann die Amtszeit des 45. Präsidenten der Vereinigten Staaten von Amerika: Donald J. Trump. Mit ihm zog ein Mann ins Weiße Haus ein, der sich im Wahlkampf durch sexistische und ausländerfeindliche Aussagen profilierte, der mit einem Mauerbau Zuwanderung ausschließen will, für den die US-Außenpolitik zuerst amerikanischen Interessen dienen muss; und der den Klimawandel offen in Frage stellt.

Internationale Politik hatte zuletzt eine Phase  multilateraler Erfolge verzeichnen können: 2015 haben sich die Weltstaaten mit dem Pariser Abkommen zur gemeinsamen, dringlichen Eindämmung des Klimawandels verpflichtet. Nur wenige Monate zuvor wurden mit den Sustainable Development Goals eine grundlegende Entwicklungsagenda bis 2030 beschlossen. Die Weltgemeinschaft steht in nahezu allen Politikbereichen vor Herausforderungen, die nur in Kooperation aller Staaten bewältigt werden können. Alleingänge einer bedeutenden Nation wie den USA wären daher folgenschwer.

Was also, wenn der US-Präsident seine Wahlversprechen wahrmacht? Droht der internationalen Politik dann eine Rückkehr zu eiskaltem Realismus, bei dem Internationale Kooperation zum Nullsummenspiel erklärt wird? In diesem Special kommentieren Autorinnen und Autoren des Deutschen Instituts für Entwicklungspolitik (DIE) die Auswirkungen für die deutsche und internationale Politik.

Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler

Publikationen

Veranstaltungen